The Lifeline of Family Support

Natasha Wijesekare
4 min readAug 26, 2024

--

Embarking on the adventure of moving to a new country brings excitement and new opportunities, but it can also be daunting and lonely. During my time in the Netherlands, my parents’ unwavering support has been a lifeline. In this post, I’ll explore the emotional and practical assistance they’ve provided, how we navigated their visits and stayed connected, and the delicate balance between leaning on family and fostering independence.

Photo by Tobias Tullius on Unsplash

The Emotional and Practical Support Parents Provide

Emotional Support

My parents’ emotional support has been a cornerstone of my journey abroad. Their encouragement and understanding have made a world of difference. Here’s how they’ve supported me emotionally:

1. Constant Reassurance: Whenever I felt overwhelmed or homesick, talking to my parents provided much-needed comfort. Their words of wisdom and encouragement reminded me of my strengths and kept me grounded.

2. Shared Experiences: Sharing my day-to-day experiences, from work achievements to personal anecdotes, helped me feel understood and connected. Their genuine interest in my life abroad made the emotional distance feel smaller.

3. Emotional Anchors: My parents served as emotional anchors, offering stability and reassurance. Knowing that they were just a phone call away gave me a sense of security even when challenges arose.

Practical Support

Beyond emotional support, my parents also offered practical assistance that proved invaluable:

1. Visits and Childcare: Regular visits from my parents were a huge help, especially with childcare. Their presence allowed me to focus on my demanding job, knowing that my child was well cared for. These visits were a relief and a chance to recharge.

2. Home Management: During their stays, my parents took on household chores like cooking and cleaning. This practical support lightened my load and gave me more time to balance work and personal responsibilities.

3. Guidance and Advice: Their life experience provided practical advice on managing finances, dealing with bureaucracy, and making informed decisions. Their insights made my transition smoother and less stressful.

Managing Visits and Staying Connected

Planning and Coordination

Coordinating visits from my parents required thoughtful planning to ensure everything went smoothly:

1. Scheduling Visits: We aligned their visits with my work schedule and key events, allowing me to take time off and fully enjoy their company without work-related stress.

2. Travel Arrangements: We handled travel arrangements, including flights and accommodation, to ensure their visits were comfortable and enjoyable. We also planned local activities and sightseeing to make their stay memorable.

3. Childcare Planning: We timed their visits around significant milestones and busy periods to ensure their help was available when it was most needed.

Staying Connected Between Visits

Maintaining a strong connection between visits was crucial for ongoing support:

1. Regular Communication: Daily phone and video calls kept us connected. These calls allowed us to catch up, share news, and offer support despite the physical distance.

2. Sharing Updates: Sending photos and videos of my child’s milestones and daily activities kept my parents involved in our lives. This constant flow of updates helped bridge the gap between visits.

3. Digital Bonding: We found creative ways to bond through technology, such as virtual storytime with my child or watching movies together online. These activities helped maintain our connection and created shared experiences.

Balancing Independence and Reliance on Family

Finding the Right Balance

While my parents’ support was invaluable, maintaining a balance between reliance on them and independence was essential:

1. Setting Boundaries: Clear communication about boundaries helped manage expectations. We discussed their involvement and my need for independence, ensuring a respectful and balanced relationship.

2. Maintaining Independence: Although I greatly appreciated their help, I made an effort to handle responsibilities on my own, including managing my work-life balance and making personal decisions independently.

3. Acknowledging Support: Expressing gratitude for their support was important. I made sure to acknowledge their efforts and let them know how much their help meant to me.

Empowering Each Other

Balancing independence with family support involves mutual empowerment:

1. Empowering Myself: Embracing my independence and tackling challenges on my own boosted my confidence and personal growth.

2. Empowering My Parents: Involving my parents in decision-making and seeking their advice made them feel valued and respected. Their contributions were significant, and acknowledging this reinforced our bond.

3. Collaborative Effort: Viewing our relationship as a collaborative effort rather than one-sided support fostered a healthy dynamic. We worked together to meet each other’s needs and ensure mutual respect.

Conclusion

In the next post, I’ll dive into the rollercoaster of motherhood, sharing the joys and challenges of balancing a career and family life. Stay tuned!

--

--